The Sad, Sad End

Today was a very sad day, the unfortunate end of, what to me, was a great relationship with my best friend. I went along to see him at his work today and was offered a cup of tea, which was a promising start. That didnt last long before being told that I am being completely unreasonable, dont understand the implications of my blog, and what I had posted. It then decended into me being reminded that I hadnt paid any rent on a property I was staying in, had put no money into a failed venture, and basically my tenure for my business on his property is over. I was then shown the door and asked to leave, my tea’s still sitting on the desk. He could not understand my concerns over the past couple of years that he’s just dispelled me anyway, never having visited my property, not having gone out for a drink, and very little contact on the phone, unless something was needed, he used to phone at least once a day, if not more, and would drive up from down south for a weekend in Aberdeen drinking and having fun. Trying to explain that this is not what a friend is was like farting against a breeze! In some ways I’m glad, as I’m not sure that if our friendship continued I’d have been able to confide in him like I’d done in the past, or been able to trust him fully again. But in others I’m deeply sad that someone I’ve spent a lot of time with, and know very well, has departed like this, its almost as if they have died. The most shocking quote from him was whaen I mentioned he doesnt come round to visit me at my house, his reply was “Your not a bloody invalid are you?”

Im not going to go into the indepth reasons for my distrust of this person now, and the showing of their true colours, but I feel there were much more reasons to our friendship than meets the eye, and the probable cause to it petering off over the past few years.

I’d rather remember the great times we had, from fishing trips on the Falklands, Land Rover Rally Driving, Holidays to Gran Canaria, Jackson Hole and Florida, and boat trips in the Moray Firth.

Friend

Definition of friend

noun

  • 1a person with whom one has a bond of mutual affection, typically one exclusive of sexual or family relations: she’s a friend of mine we were close friends
  • (used as a polite form of address or in ironic reference) an acquaintance or a stranger one comes across:my friends, let me introduce myself
  • (one’s friends) archaic one’s close relatives.
  • a person who supports a cause, organization, or country by giving financial or other help:the Friends of the Welsh National Opera
  • a person who is not an enemy or opponent; an ally:she was unsure whether he was friend or foe
  • a familiar or helpful thing:he settled for that old friend the compensation grant

I know he will read this, and probably feel no guilt, or that there was nothing wrong with his actions, or the way our friendship was over the past couple of years. But I feel deeply betrayed by his actions, suspicious of his intentions in our friendship, and sad its come to this end. There is a comment section below that he’s more than welcome to put a response in, I’ve nothing to hide, and am glad I’ve taken the path I have, and said the things I’ve posted.

Thankfully I have others I can turn too for support, true friends, that understand and stand by me. Hopefully this will make him smile with me one last time though –

grumpy-old-men

Beautiful day, Mr. Goldman.

Hey, Snyder! Why don’t you do the world a favor and take your lower lip and pull it over your head and swallow?”

This song has given me great hope, and strength over all this – just listen to the words!

Youtube Video

 

 

This entry was posted in Surviving PTSD and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

